Kobo e-reader library

https://classiccreativemel.wordpress.com

I just wanted to introduce my newest travel companion. I’ve recently been sorting through my belongings and having a bit of a clear out ready for a year of travelling. Giving things away can be both liberating and hard to know what to keep and what is best to part with. I was having trouble narrowing down which book/s to take with me in my suitcase which is looking smaller by the day. The conclusion of course was to get a small light weight e-book reader so I didn’t have to choose. Why make difficult decisions when you can avoid them.. the logic worked in this case.

If you get an e-reader I highly recommend downloading calibre. It’s an e-book management program which allows you to put books of various file names onto your e-reader. This means you can upload free e-books you have downloaded on the web as well has making your own e-books online. I used this site to copy off a book I’d found free online at ‘Chest of books’ where you can read books online for free. It was quite time consuming to put the chapters into the e-book making website, but it has a contents page and it worked! It’s also an easy way to take your favourite recipes travelling with you, or save some info off a website for reading later. You can also change the meta data of your books, alter the name, cover image etc. There is some good info on this youtube clip on how to use calibre and other software which is similar. So save some money and see what books you can download for free online first, they might not be the latest books but plenty of them will still be well worth reading.

Have a look to see if there is an online e-book library that is part of your closest town library. Overdrive should have details and you just login with your current library card number. This means you can ‘borrow’ a book for two weeks and there are no late fees as the book just disappears from your library when your time is up. You will need to download Adobe Digital Editions as it’s the only program which will open the files from over drive libraries. I’ll post with some more information and some screen shots later as I realize it’s rather confusing and overwhelming at first.

I also loooove the cute book-look-alike case I got to match my kobo! It’s a sleep case because when you close the cover it automatically puts the e-reader into sleep mode. I’ve read that you can make your own cover and install this feature by putting a magnet on the front cover part. Have a read up on it if you are interested. There are lots of wonderful DIY cases out there. Yes, I very nearly made one but decided to direct my creative energies to some sewing projects instead. I’ve selected my favourite inspiration cases for you to enjoy or get ideas to make your own. Click on any of the photos to go to the website they came from.
 

  

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment